To, 29th April 2020

Shri Prakash Keshav Javadekar

Honourable Minister for Information and Broadcasting,

Government of India.

Subject: Appeal to protect media personnel doing evidence based reporting of COVID-19 situation Dear Shri Javadekar ji,

We, the undersigned civil society groups, and individuals would like to raise concerns about the following issues, and request you to kindly look into the same:

- a) In the current context of COVID-19, there is a serious problem of fake news, and, science and health reporters who are reporting based on evidence are being harassed. We should be encouraging the reporting of evidence based stories, and using these to understand the evolving situation and to investigate any lapses in our response. Reporting about indisputable facts-- like shortages of test kits and PPE, struggles faced by non-COVID-19 patients seeking care, and the extent of transmission in the community has generated a series of attacks on journalists when these should be used as leads for improving our COVID-19 response.
- b) Cases have been filed against journalists or media houses for reporting on incidents like the lack of social distancing in certain states is troubling as it impedes the freedom of speech & makes truthful reporting on the pandemic difficult by intimidating journalists/media.
- c) Harassment, especially sexual in nature of women reporters, primarily on social media has been increasing and this dissuades reporters and discourages them from doing their job which is to bring truth to the public realm.
- d) Linked to the above is the need to bring in protections for reporters and media colleagues, so that they are protected from attacks on social media/online, security provided where required, and personal comments on reporters/journalists (especially female) are discouraged, and action taken against those propagating or indulging in such acts. We request you to extend the new order protecting doctors, nurses, paramedical professionals, frontline health workers, ASHAs to media personnel too.

We urge you to kindly take urgent action in this matter.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

- 1. Amulya Nidhi, Indore <u>amulyabhai@gmail.com</u>
- 2. Dr Anant Bhan, Bhopal dranantbhan@gmail.com
- 3. Dr Shyam Ashtekar, Nashik
- 4. Dr Vandana Prasad , New Delhi
- 5. Jagdish Patel, Baroda
- 6. Dr Anand Phillip, Bangalore
- 7. DR Anant Phadke, Pune
- 8. Prof Mohan Rao, Delhi

- Dr Shakeel Ur Rahman, Patna
- 10. Dr. Peehu Pardeshi, Mumbai
- 11. Dr. Amar Jesani, Mumbai
- 12. Dr. Sabu M George, Delhi
- 13. Radha Holla, New Delhi
- 14. Dr Sunita Sheel, Pune
- 15. Sarojini N, Delhi
- 16. Dr. Rakhi Ghoshal, Kolkata
- 17. Nachiket Udupa
- 18. Dr. Veena Shatrugna, Hyderabad
- 19. Dr K R Antony, Kochi
- 20. Pradeep Ninan
- 21. Sulakshana Nandi, Raipur
- 22. Deepa V, Delhi
- 23. Dr Lakshmi Lingam, Mumbai
- 24. Ravi Duggal, Mumbai
- 25. Dr Rajalakshmi R, Chennai
- 26. Dr. Indranil Mukhopadhyay, Delhi
- 27. Dr Suhas Kolhekar, Pune
- 28. Rohini Kandhari, New Delhi
- 29. Bijoya Roy, New Delhi
- 30. Sanjai Sharma, Delhi
- 31. Charul Bharwada, Ahmedabad
- 32. Vinay Mahajan, Ahmedabad
- 33. Dr. Sana Contractor, New Delhi
- 34. Sandhya Y K, UP
- 35. Pervin Jehangir, Mumbai
- 36. Devika Biswas, Bihar
- 37. Dr Ritu Priya, New Delhi
- 38. Pallavi Gupta, New Delhi
- 39. Sumegha Asthana, New Delhi
- 40. S Srinivasan, Vadodara
- 41. Sanjeeta Gawri, Delhi
- 42. Madhavi Y, Delhi
- 43. Deepak Kumar
- 44. Inayat Singh Kakar, Delhi
- 45. Rajeev B R, Bangalore
- 46. S.R Azad, Bhopal
- 47. Sudhir Vombatkere
- 48. Sanjeev Kumar, New Delhi
- 49. Sanjay M.G , Mumbai
- 50. Arundhati Dhuru
- 51. Meera Sanghmitra
- 52. Dwiji Guru

- 53. Dr Priyadarshi
- 54. Dr Nidhin Joseph
- 55. Anuj Ghanekar, Pune
- 56. Amit Ranjan Basu, Delhi
- 57. Savithri D, Chennai
- 58. Dr Thelma Narayan, Bengaluru
- 59. Dr Sylvia Karapagam, Bengaluru
- 60. Sudha N, Bangalore
- 61. Chennaiah poguri, Chittoor
- 62. Mahendra Yadav, Bihar
- 63. Pradip Chatterjee, Kolkatta
- 64. Inamul Hasan, New Delhi
- 65. Gurwant Singh
- 66. Vijaya Seethappa, Karnataka
- 67. Syed Tousif Masood
- 68. Dinesh S Thakur
- 69. Dr Sunilam, MP
- 70. Dr G.D Verma, MP
- 71. Rajkumar Sinha, Jabalpur
- 72. Nakul Singh Shawney Delhi
- 73. Mudita Vidrohi, Ahmedabad
- 74. Vinod Patheriya ,Vidisha
- 75. Naveen Srivatstava, Gopalganj
- 76. Dr Bishwajeet, Cuttack, Orissa